quick biography

I often tell people early on when they meet that I was raised in a Foster Home…it save all the embarassing questions later on…i have accepted the fact that I must  be an anomaly..people are shocked that i am not in jail or on drugs..but I never forgot the feeling of not having a voice growing up..just feeling powerless…watching how adults treated as soon as they discovered there was noone to protect……yes even the “nice” ones..so I became the Parent I “wished” I had…My children are always thanking me and I always think…But isnt this how you are supposed t o be??

After my children got older I wanted to help other children…so I became a CASA/GAL-Court Appointed Special Advocate for children at risk…whose Parents were either on drugs or committed a crime and were at risk for losing custody….I got to be something i never had as a child….A Voice…I have done it for five years….I absolutely LOVE LOVE fighting the Attorney, the Judge for what was Best for the Child’s interest!!!!

This entry was posted in EDUCATION. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to quick biography

  1. Grace Uitenham says:

    What a fabulous introduction to a very meaningful blog! The story is true and your passion for being the “voice” of children who can’t articulate all that feel is genuine & true. Way to go Evette for pursuing your passion and helping so many who don’t have a voice.

Leave a Reply

